OUT OF STATE DRIVERS
DRIVER LICENSE COMPACT
The Driver’s License Compact is an agreement between states to reciprocate in regards to the individual state’s motor vehicle laws. All states are members except Georgia, Massachusetts, Michigan, Tennessee and Wisconsin. If you receive a ticket in any of these states your home state shall receive notice. What your home state does with the notice will vary from state to state. A partial summary is listed below. For CDL Licensed operators
New Jersey will assess two points for any out of state moving violation to your NJ Driving record regardless of the amount of points assessable in the foreign state.
If you received a ticket, that carries points in NJ, Florida will assess three points onto your Florida License regardless of the amount of points assessed in NJ.
Two points are assessed for an out-of-state moving violation conviction; and Three points are assessed for an out-of-state moving violation that resulted in a crash.
Connecticut will usually not assign any points for NJ tickets unless the tickets go unpaid in NJ or there was an actual finding of guilt after a trial. A plea to a NJ ticket will result in no Connecticut points.
Virginia will pick up NJ tickets and assign demerit points in accordance with the corresponding violation under Virginia Motor Vehicle Laws. The tickets will then be posted to your driving record and the Virginia rules as to license suspension and insurance reporting will be applicable to the NJ ticket’s points assigned.
New York will not assign any points for moving violations committed in NJ, New York will suspend your license if you fail to respond to any out of state violation.
Pennsylvania will not assess points for New Jersey violations for minor traffic offenses. Suspensions may be honored by Pennsylvania if your license is suspended in NJ. If your license is suspended in NJ for DWI for a first offense PA will take no action. For a second offense Pennsylvania will suspend your PA license for one year. If you have a CDL license in PA the tickets and points assessed in NJ will be reported onto your PA CDL License.
Maryland will assess points on your Maryland License pairing the points assessed in NJ with the points of the similar MD statutes.
CDL LICENSED DRIVERS
Penalties for Commercial Drivers are mandated by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration. For all Commercial Drivers the following rules apply.
You must notify your employer within 30 days of a traffic violation conviction, regardless of the type of vehicle you were driving.
You will lose your VA CDL for one year if convicted of any of the following offenses:
Driving any vehicle with a blood alcohol count (BAC) of 0.08% or higher
Driving a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) with a BAC of 0.04%
Refusing to submit to a sobriety test
Leaving the scene of an accident
Using the vehicle to commit a felony
Driving a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) with a suspended, revoked or canceled CDL
Causing a fatality through negligent driving
These violations include:
Speeding 15 mph over the posted speed limit
Improper lane changes
Following a vehicle too closely
Driving a CMV without holding a CDL
Driving a CMV without having your CDL in your possession
Driving a CMV without the proper CDL endorsement
Violating a state law of texting while driving
A second conviction of any combination of these violations will lead to the loss of your driving privileges for 60 days, or 120 days for a third or subsequent conviction of any combination of these offenses.
You CDL will be disqualified from anywhere from 180 days to one year for the following convictions:
Violating a driver or vehicle out-of-service order while transporting nonhazardous materials
Violating a driver or vehicle out-of-service order while transporting hazardous materials required to be placarded, or while driving a vehicle designed to transport 16 or more passengers
Law Office of Steven P. Lombardi
318 Main Street
Suite 200 C
Millburn, NJ 07041
Or use our contact form.
9 AM -5 PM Monday through Friday