Red Light Camera Violations NJSA 39:4-8.15
Red Light Camera Tickets are becoming increasingly prevalent in New Jersey. The fines are $85 and enforcement is governed by local ordinances. The operating Statute is NJSA 39: 4-8.15. The Statute provides that the photos must be reviewed within 90 days and a ticket issued within that time period. The statute also requires that the records be destroyed three days after the 90 period if no summons is issued or 60 days after any fine is collected. The summonses and tickets do not generate any license points.
CALL TODAY FOR A FREE INITIAL CONSULTATION
NEW JERSEY RED LIGHT CAMERA TICKET LAWYER
STEVEN P. LOMBARDI, ESQ.
Steven P. Lombardi is a highly experienced New Jersey Ticket Attorney. He is a Ticket Lawyer practicing in all New Jersey Municipal Courts.
The statute provides that the owner of the vehicle is jointly liable for the ticket fine unless the owner can prove that the vehicle was used without the owner's express or even implied consent.
Many Prosecutors do not agree with the establishment of these cameras and the issuance of these tickets as it is generally felt that the cameras are more about revenue generation than safety. Many Class Action Lawsuits have been recently settled or are pending obtaining settlements to insure the correct yellow light time period is set in place and providing small refunds to affected drivers.
These tickets are very hard to have dismissed in court and it is recommended that Drivers pay the fines or fight the tickets on their own rather than retain an attorney as the costs of retaining an attorney outweigh the probable benefits. Since zero points will result the fine is outweighed by the costs of retaining an attorney.