New Jersey Reckless Driving Lawyer - Reckless Driving Ticket in NJ - Attorney for Ticket
Reckless Driving Tickets in New Jersey NJSA 39:4-96
Reckless Driving is a serious offense in New Jersey. A person who is convicted or pleads guilty to Reckless Driving is subject to a fine of $50 to $200 for a first offense, and possibly a term of imprisonment of up to 60 days. For a second offense a fine of $100 to $500 is applicable and a term of possible imprisonment of up to 3 months in jail. Fines are doubled in Safe Corridor/65 MPH/ Construction Zones. A period of License Suspension can also be imposed on a driver convicted of this offense. A person will incur (5) Five Motor Vehicle Points if convicted of this offense. A person is guilty of Reckless Driving if that person drives "heedlessly in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others, in a manner so as to endanger, or be likely to endanger, a person or property". Reckless Driving can result in the accumulation of motor vehicle points. Reckless Driving can result in the suspension of your driving privilege.
CALL TODAY FOR A FREE INITIAL CONSULTATION
NEW JERSEY RECKLESS DRIVING TICKET LAWYER
STEVEN P. LOMBARDI, ESQ.
Steven P. Lombardi is a highly experienced New Jersey Ticket Attorney. He is a Ticket Lawyer practicing in all New Jersey Municipal Courts.
The Statute provides in full:
39:4-96. Reckless driving; punishment
A person who drives a vehicle heedlessly, in willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others, in a manner so as to endanger, or be likely to endanger, a person or property,
shall be guilty of reckless driving and be punished by imprisonment in the county or municipal jail for a period of not more than 60 days, or by a fine of not less than $50.00 or more than $200.00,
On a second or subsequent conviction he shall be punished by imprisonment for not more than three months, or by a fine of not less than $100 or more than $500, or both.
The recent New Jersey Supreme Court case of State v Moran outlined the considerations a court must use in imposing jail time and license suspension penalties. These penalties are also possible if you have received a Reckless Driving Ticket. See our page entitled "When Can my License be Suspended" to review the considerations a judge will use before subjecting a driver to a License Suspension or Jail time.