New Jersey Leaving the Scene of an Accident Lawyer - NJ Leaving the Scene with Injury Attorney
Leaving the Scene of an Accident - NJSA 39:4-129
Leaving the scene of an accident is a serious offense in New Jersey. If the accident involves personal injury, the offense can result in suspension of your driving privileges for one year if you plead guilty or are convicted. The fines also can be excessive ranging between $2,500 and $5,000. You may also be imprisoned for 180 days. A Leaving the Scene of an Accident Lawyer can eliminate the license suspension with a successful plea negotiation.
If the offense involves only property damage the fines range from $200 to $400 or imprisonment for up to 30 days for a first offense. If it is a second offense the fines range from $400 to $600 with imprisonment for between 30 to 90 days. A six month loss of driving privileges is statutorily required for a first offense conviction and a one year loss of license for any subsequent conviction.
CALL TODAY FOR A FREE INITIAL CONSULTATION
NEW JERSEY LEAVING THE SCENE OF AN ACCIDENT TICKET LAWYER
STEVEN P. LOMBARDI, ESQ.
There is a defense available if you did not know you were involved in an accident however if the property damage is greater than $250 it is assumed that the driver had knowledge of the accident. The statute also allows a permissive inference that the registered owner of the vehicle was the person involved in the accident. If the vehicle is rented, the renter or authorized driver, is presumed to be the operator. There is also a provision that holds a person liable if the person conceals or suppresses any evidence of the accident, allowing for a fine ranging between $250 and $1,000. Call a Leaving the Scene of an Accident with property damage lawyer today.
Any conviction of this statute regardless of the presence of personal injury or property damage results in eight (8) Motor Vehicle Points.