New Jersey DWI Lawyer - Driving While Intoxicated Attorney in NJ - 39:4-50

Steven P. Lombardi is a highly experienced New Jersey DWI Ticket Attorney.  He is a Driving While Intoxicated Ticket Defense Lawyer practicing in all New Jersey Municipal Courts. 

 

The statute governing Driving While Intoxicated in New Jersey is NJSA 39:4-50.  Under this Statute your driving privileges may be suspended for an extended time period depending on the level of intoxication and the number of prior convictions. The only scientific way to determine whether a driver is under the influence is through blood alcohol concentration (BAC). Your BAC can be tested with a simple Breathalyzer test.  In New Jersey, a person with a BAC of 0.08% or greater who operates a motor vehicle or a boat is considered to be Driving Under the Influence (DUI) called commonly Driving While Intoxicated in New Jersey (DWI).  If you are a Commercial Truck Driver your CDL can be suspended for one year if you are found guilty of driving with a BAC of 0.04 or greater in a commercial vehicle.  It is a one year CDL License loss for conviction in a non-commercial vehicle for a first offense and a lifetime loss of your CDL license for a second offense subject to a ten year reapplication period review. 

 

 

CALL TODAY FOR A FREE INITIAL CONSULTATION

NEW JERSEY DWI LAWYER

 

STEVEN P. LOMBARDI, ESQ. 

 

973-921-2860



Being convicted of a DWI is a serious offense, carrying heavy penalties including:

  • Fines, fees and surcharges
  • License suspension
  • Ignition interlock device
  • Jail time
  • Community service

NO CONDITIONAL LICENSES ON DWI CONVICTION IN NEW JERSEY

 

Unlike some other States New Jersey does not have any conditional licenses to travel to and from work.  A loss of driving privileges will also result in a loss of boating operation privileges.

Fines and Penalties for DWI in New Jersey - DWI Lawyer

Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of .10 % or higher ( First Offense )

 

License Suspension 7 Months to 1 year

 

Fines$300 - $ 500 Fine

$230 Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) Fee

$100 to Drunk Driving Fund

$100 to Alcohol Education and Rehab Fund (AERF)

$1,000 per year surcharge for 3 years

$ 75 to Neighborhood Services Fund

 

Prison TermUp to 30 Days

 

Community Service IDRC & Interlock:  12-48 hours IDRC and Interlock during license suspension and 6 months to one year following restoration

 

Blood Alcohol Content ( BAC) .08 but less than .10 %  ( First Offense) 

 

License Suspension 3 Months 

 

Fines$250 - $ 400 Fine

$230 Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) Fee

$100 to Drunk Driving Fund

$100 to Alcohol Education and Rehab Fund (AERF)

$1,000 per year surcharge for 3 years

$ 75 to Neighborhood Services Fund

 

Prison Term Up to 30 days

 

Community Service IDRC & Interlock:  None

 

REPEAT DWI CONVICTIONS

 

Second Offense within Ten Years

 

License Suspension 2 Years

 

Fines$500 - $1,000 Fine

$280 Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) Fee

$100 to Drunk Driving Fund

$100 to Alcohol Education and Rehab Fund (AERF)

$1,000 per year surcharge for 3 years

$ 75 to Neighborhood Services Fund

 

Prison Term48 Hours to 90 Days

 

Community Service IDRC & Interlock:  30 Days Community Service 12-48 hours IDRC and Intrerlock during license suspension and 1 to 3 years following restoration

 

Third Offense within 10 years of 2nd Offense

 

License Suspension 10 Years

 

Fines$1,000 Fine

$280 Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) Fee

$100 to Drunk Driving Fund

$100 to Alcohol Education and Rehab Fund (AERF)

$1,500 per year surcharge for 3 years

$ 75 to Neighborhood Services Fund

 

Prison Term180 Days

 

Community Service IDRC & Interlock: Up to 90 Days Community Service 12-48 hours IDRC and Intrerlock during license suspension and 1 to 3 years following restoration